I Have a Confession to Make: I had never heard a Prince song

8453745_orig

Are you listening? Can we trust each other here? Promise not to be mad? I need verbal confirmation… ok, then here we go, you’re going to want to sit for this.

I had never heard a Prince song until yesterday.

I know who Prince is. I know what he means to the world. I know of the song Purple Rain. I know he’s an unbelievable musician and a fashion icon. I just had never heard a song of his until yesterday. Now this was odd to me. I listen to a LOT of music. Oldies, newies, rap, country, classical. You name it, I’ve listened to it. Hell, I’ve even listened to this. Don’t ask my why, but I have. So, to have never heard a Prince song is mind blowing to me.

I blame my friends. I blame my parents. I blame Janet Jackson and her wardrobe malfunction watering down the halftime show and forcing the Black Eyed Peas on us (for SO many reasons, not just because I missed the Prince show).  I’m a victim of a broken system. I listened yesterday after I heard the news and I was amazed. Guy just put out bangers left and right, and here I was listening to other, less fabulous, music all this time like a heathen. I know now what I’ve been missing. And I’d like to posthumously thank Prince for creating the music that he did. I can only apologize profusely for having never listened before and hope he’ll forgive me.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m heading back to the rock that I live under.

Leave a Reply

